Spoils of War

Recovering Looted Artworks from the Second World War

Curator : Ori Z. Soltes, and Marc J. Masurovsky

Synopsis of the exhibition

Synopsis of the exhibition

Klimts, Renoir, Manets … Between 1933 and 1945, the Nazis engaged in a real looting throughout Europe. The Raubkunst, an organized dispossession aiming to confiscate from their owners over 400,000 works of art.

UMA offers you a historical exhibition. In an original scenography, discover the greatest spoilt  masterpieces of World War II.

In this exhibition, you will discover:

  • The journey of each object, its history and that of its trip to the Nazi warehouses until it is returned.
  • A symbolic reconstruction of the highest places of spoliation, from the Shoah memorial going to collectors’ apartments
  • An original reconstruction of the Room of Martyrs, the Jeu de Paume room where stored the so-called degenerate works of art.

This exhibition touches our common history, our collective memory. These works that you will see bear the mark of a trauma that is still burning our consciousness. Take time to reflect, remember, and above all appreciate the beauty of these exceptional works.

 

About the institution

About the institution

This exhibition was produced in partnership with the HARP (Holocaust Art Restitution Project), with the curating of Ori Z. Soltes, professor of Hebrew civilization at Georgetown University, and Marc J. Masurovsky, historian specializing in questions of spoliation and co-founder of HARP.

The “Spoils of War” exhibition was made possible through crowdfunding launched on KissKissBankBank. Among its donors, UMA would like to warmly thank Stephane Chenderoff, as well as Diane de Selliers and Marie-Claire de Selliers.

Visit the exhibition

Les Oeuvres spoliées

Le grand pillage de la Seconde Guerre Mondiale

Commissariat : Ori Z. Soltes et Marc J. Masurovsky

Synopsis de l'exposition

Synopsis de l'exposition

Des Klimt, des Renoir, Des Manet… Entre 1933 et 1945, les nazis se livrent à travers toute l’Europe à un véritable pillage. C’est le Raubkunst, une dépossession organisée et qui allaient confisquer à leurs propriétaires plus de 400.000 œuvres d’art.

UMA vous propose une exposition historique. Dans une scénographie inédite, découvrez les plus grands chefs-d’œuvre spoliés de la Seconde Guerre Mondiale.

Dans cette exposition, vous découvrirez :

  • Le parcours de chaque objet, son histoire et celle de son voyage dans les entrepôts nazis jusqu’à sa 
restitution.
  • Une reconstitution symbolique des plus hauts lieux de la spoliation, du mémorial de la Shoah en 
passant aux appartements de collectionneurs
  • Une reconstitution à l’identique de la Salle des Martyrs, la salle du Jeu de Paume où était entreposés 
les œuvres d’art dites dégénérées.

Cette exposition touche à notre histoire commune, à notre mémoire collective. Ces œuvres que vous verrez portent la marque d’un traumatisme qui, aujourd’hui encore est présent dans toutes les consciences. Prenez un temps pour réfléchir, vous souvenir, et surtout apprécier la beauté de ces œuvres exceptionnelle

A propos de l'institution

A propos de l'institution

Cette exposition a été réalisée en partenariat avec le HARP (Holocaust Art Restitution Project), avec le commissariat d’exposition de Ori Z. Soltes, professeur de civilisation hébraïque à l’Université de Georgetown, et de Marc J. Masurovsky, historien spécialiste des questions de spoliation et co-fondateur du HARP.

L’exposition « Spoils of War » fut rendu possible grâce à un financement participatif lancé sur KissKissBankBank. Parmi ses donateurs, UMA tient à remercier chaleureusement Stephane Chenderoff, ainsi que Diane de Selliers et Marie-Claire de Selliers.

Dossier pédagogique

Communiqué de Presse

Visiter l'exposition