The Founding Myths

Illustrated by Masters from Ancient to Contemporary Art

Curator : Diane de Selliers, in partnership with the Editions Diane de Selliers

Synopsis of the exhibition

Synopsis of the exhibition

What if the founding myths were still relevant today? Although they were written thousands of years ago, they keep inspiring us, and inspiring artists. Their stories of wars, exile, or love are the foundations of our culture, all over the world.

In virtual reality, discover the works illustrating great human epics, which, despite the distance, offer curious similarities:

  • The Ramayana, illustrated by Indian miniatures
  • Homer’s Iliad and Odyssey, illustrated by Mimmo Paladino
  • The Aeneid of Virgil, illustrated by the fresco and the ancient mosaic
  • Ovid’s Metamorphoses, illustrated by Baroque painting
  • The Apocalypse of Saint John, illustrated by the Angers tapestry

In Valmiki’s Ramayana or Homer’s Iliad and Odyssey, exile, wars, love are one immense song. Song taken up a few centuries later by Virgil in the Aeneid, while Ovid explores in his Metamorphosis the depths of the soul and the actions of man. Meanwhile, Saint John receives his visions of the Apocalypse and prophesies the annihilation and the salvation of the man. This mythological base is the fundament of our representations and our humanity.

About the institution

About the institution

This exhibition was produced in partnership with the editions Diane de Selliers, with the curatorship of Diane de Selliers. A true reference in the publishing of fine books, bringing together art and literature, Diane de Selliers editions share the values ​​of universality and dialogue dear to UMA. It is therefore natural that this partnership was born.

UMA warmly thanks Joséphine Barbereau and the entire EDS team for their participation, as well as Mathilde Louette for writing the fascinating notices that punctuate this exhibition. Finally, UMA expresses its gratitude to Mimmo Paladino who allowed us to reproduce his works inspired by the Illiad and the Odyssey. As well as Paule Amblard and Amina Okada for the expertise they brought us.

 

Visit the exhibition

Les Mythes fondateurs

Illustrés par les grands maîtres de l'antiquité à nos jours

Commissariat : Diane de Selliers, en partenariat avec les Editions Diane de Selliers

Synopsis de l'exposition

Synopsis de l'exposition

Et si les mythes fondateurs étaient toujours d’actualité ? Bien qu’écrits il y a plusieurs milliers d’années, ils continuent de nous inspirer, et d’inspirer les artistes. Leurs histoires de guerres, d’exil ou d’amour sont les fondements de notre culture, partout à travers le monde.

En réalité virtuelle, découvrez les œuvres illustrant grandes épopées humaines, qui, malgré la distance, offrent de curieuses similarités :

  • Le Ramayana, illustré par la miniature indienne
  • L’Iliade et l’Odyssée d’Homère, illustrés par Mimmo Paladino
  • L’Énéide de Virgile, illustré par la fresque et la mosaïque antique
  • Les Métamorphoses d’Ovide, illustrées par la peinture Baroque
  • L’Apocalypse de Saint-Jean, illustrée par la tapisserie d’Angers

Dans le Ramayana de Valmiki ou l’Iliade et l’Odyssée d’Homère, l’exil, les guerres, l’amour ne sont qu’un immense chant. Chant repris quelques siècles plus tard par Virgile dans l’Enéide, tandis qu’Ovide explore dans ses Métamorphoses les tréfonds de l’âme et les agissements de l’homme. À la même époque, Saint Jean reçoit ses visions de l’Apocalypse et prophétise l’anéantissement et le salut de l’homme. Ce socle mythologique fonde nos représentations et notre humanité.

 

A propos de l'institution

A propos de l'institution

Cette exposition a été réalisée en partenariat avec les éditions Diane de Selliers, avec le commissariat de Diane de Selliers. Véritable référence dans l’édition de beaux livres, faisant dialoguer arts et littérature, les éditions Diane de Selliers partagent les valeurs d’universalité et de dialogue chères à UMA. C’est donc tout naturellement que ce partenariat vit le jour.

UMA remercie chaleureusement Joséphine Barbereau et toute l’équipe des EDS pour leur participation, ainsi que Mathilde Louette pour la rédaction des passionnantes notices qui rythment cette exposition. Enfin, UMA exprime toute sa gratitude à Mimmo Paladino qui nous a permis de reproduire ses œuvres inspirées de l’Illiade et de l’Odyssée. Ainsi que Paule Amblard et Amina Okada pour l’expertise qu’elles nous ont apportée.

 

Visiter l'exposition