From Renaissance to 20th century

Masterpieces of Painting in French Museums

Curator : Jean Vergès, with the participation of Pascal Bonafoux, in partnership with Club Innovation Culture

Synopsis of the exhibition

Synopsis of the exhibition

Discover the largest panorama of the History of Art in the French collections! “Renaissance in the XX7th Century” offers you a unique selection of works from the collections of 64 French museums, presented in virtual reality.

UMA offers you:

  • An exhibition spanning nearly six centuries of Western painting
  • A daring 3D scenography, free from all constraints
  • Eleven themes, from portrait to storyboard; from the landscape to the representation of the body.

The exhibition offers a collection of an exceptional diversity, in a historical and geographical perspective. The issue is not exhaustiveness but the representativeness of the most important eras and schools in the history of art. From the great masters of the Renaissance to the first impressionists, the visitor will be able to discover a panorama of the artistic trends, and appreciate the diversity of French collections.

About the institution

About the institution

“From the Renaissance to the 20th century, masterpieces of painting in French collections” realized in partnership with the Club-Innovation-Culture, was made possible thanks to the support of the RMN-Grand Palais.

UMA sends its deepest gratitude to Pascal Bonafoux, Professor Emeritus of Art History, for his advice and vision. We would also like to thank the Institut français and the magazine Connaissance des Arts, which carried out several mediation and dissemination operations alongside us. The wealth of its partners allowed UMA to offer an unprecedented and unique exhibition in France.

Finally, we would like to thank Philippine Lambla and Pierre Demerliac for writing the texts that punctuate this exhibition.

Press Release

Visit the exhibition

De la Renaissance au XXème siècle

Les Chefs-d'oeuvre de la peinture dans les musées français

Commissariat : Jean Vergès, avec la participation de Pascal Bonafoux, en partenariat avec le Club Innovation Culture

Synopsis de l'exposition

Synopsis de l'exposition

Découvrez le plus grand panorama de l’Histoire de l’Art dans les collections françaises ! « De la Renaissance au XX7me siècle » vous offre une sélection inédite d’œuvres issues des collections de 64 musées français, présentée en réalité virtuelle.

UMA vous propose :

  • Une exposition couvrant près de six siècles de peinture occidentale
  • Une scénographie 3D audacieuse, affranchie de toute contrainte
  • Onze thèmes, du portrait au tableau d’histoire ; du paysage à la représentation du

L’exposition propose une collection d’une exceptionnelle diversité, tant du point de vue historique que géographique. L’enjeu n’est pas l’exhaustivité mais la représentativité des époques et des écoles phares depuis les grands maîtres de la Renaissance, jusqu’aux premiers impressionnistes. Le visiteur pourra ainsi découvrir un panorama de l’Histoire de l’Art issu de la diversité des collections françaises.

A propos de l'institution

A propos de l'institution

Cette exposition a été réalisée en partenariat avec le  CLIC (Club Innovation Culture). Elle rassemble soixante-cinq musées et institutions culturelles françaises dont chacune a proposé deux à cinq œuvres de sa collection.

« De la Renaissance au XXème, les chefs d’œuvre de la peinture dans les collections françaises » a été rendue possible grâce au soutien de la RMN-Grand Palais.

UMA adresse sa plus profonde gratitude à Pascal Bonafoux, professeur émérite d’Histoire de l’art, pour ses conseils et sa vision. Nous remercions également L’Institut français et le magazine Connaissance des Arts, qui menèrent à nos côtés plusieurs opérations de médiation et de diffusion. La richesse de ses partenaires permit à UMA de proposer une exposition inédite et unique en France.

Enfin, nous remercions Philippine Lambla et Pierre Demerliac pour la rédaction des textes qui rythment cette exposition.

Communiqué de Presse

Visiter l'exposition